What's New
Sign Up

Cookie Notification

We use cookies to personalize your experience. Learn more here.

I Accept
I Don't Accept
  1. Home
  2. Categories
  3. All Things Tech
  4. I-EXTRUDER – Smart Solder Paste and Fluids Dispenser for PCBs
x
Ratings for products on Gadget Flow are based on quality, competitive features, aesthetics, price, and more. We also take feedback from our users seriously. Products with negative feedback (shipping delays, quality issues, etc.) will go down in rating. Feel free to report your experience with this brand and we will investigate.

I-EXTRUDER – Smart Solder Paste and Fluids Dispenser for PCBs

Editor's Rating
4.8?
Discovered on 2016-10-26

I-EXTRUDER is a stepper motor driven, Air-Free, solder paste and fluids dispenser for PCB prototyping, electronics assembly, DIY projects, crafts, professional or industrial assembly of products. Traditionally, to apply solder paste, compounds, lubricants, adhesives, etc., in electronics prototyping, DIY electronics and crafts, people use solder paste stencils, manual dispensing methods, or pneumatics dispensers. The main problems with those methods of dispensing are the fact that they are pretty time-consuming and expensive at the same time. But I-EXTRUDER is different. It’s a very compact, silent, light weight device that combines the precision of linear stepper motor drive technology, the intelligence of microprocessor control, and the flexibility and cost-effectiveness of 10ml plastic barrel reservoirs. You can configure/adjust and save following parameters: Dispensing Time, Dispensing Mode, Dispensing Speed, “Pull Back” Amount, Screen Brightness, Language (EN, FR, GE, IT, SP, RU) and save parameters in any of 10 user programs.

LoadingSave66 Users Saved This Product
Overview
Overview & Specs
Power Consumption :
1.6 kWh/year (2h of use per day x 366 days)
Power Source :
5V USB source (>0.5A)
Noise :
34 dBA
Discovered on:
Report this

Comments

50
Write your comment ...
Comments
Kickstarter Comments (50)

Leave a Reply

avatar
300
  Subscribe  
Notify of
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@Rob
Hi Rob, thank you for sharing that info.
You got a very nice project ! Will back it :)
Rob Kahr
Review from Kickstarter
So I was using my i-Extruder last night assembling boards for my Kickstarter campaign! It's still working great... My product is a low-volume PCB that incorporates micro-controllers that would be very difficult to solder/assemble without the i-Extruder. If you get a chance, check out my campaign at https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/2111218102/skee-ball-display-pcbs-redesigned -Rob
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@Victor
Hello Victor,
unfortunately it seems that you haven't understood the situation.
He have already contacted French post which replied to us that you parcel was delivered. Also we explained to you, that your tracking numbernot shows "door-to-door" information,but only that parcel has left France because that China Post, does not exchange the tracking information to the French Post.
Once parcel arrives to China, new tracking number is automatically assigned to that parcel which is (at this moment) only know to China Post.
You are contesting the delivery and that is your right.
However, as we already have told you, in that situation you MUST open an official claim at China Post, for "non delivery" so they will start the official research of your parcel, as they know the new tracking number assigned to the parcel .
They will send you the official reply which will contain the results of research. You need then email to us the copy of that letter from China Post.
As you understand, if that letter will confirm the same thing, as the reply from French Post, telling that your parcel was delivered, no further any action is possible.
In other case, with the official confirmation from China Post saying that parcel wasn't delivered or was lost, we can proceed to the refund of your order, and then we could (from our side) apply for the Delivengo Insurance to recover the losses. As we wrote you previously you need to open an OFFICIAL CLAIM for non delivery at China Post and get the WRITTEN REPLY from them.
Without the official reply letter from China Poste, Delivengo could not launch further research. However, for different reasons you don't want to open an official claim, but still asking as to provide a solution and solve the situation. Sorry for the inconvenience, but without you willing to open the official claim to provide the reply from China Post we can't do anything more than was already done until now. And we will have no other choice other that to consider that your parcel was delivered and all further conversation regarding this matter,, will be ceased. Regards,
Damir
I-Extruder Team
Victor
Review from Kickstarter
@Artline International Hi Damir, it is anohter week, still no response. What are you doing? Are you still doing the project? Although I believed you did a good product and as all the other backers supported your campaign, but I am really dispointed with what you are doing with the lost parcel. Why you are not working with French Post to solve this? Instead of asking me to deal with China Post to provide an "official non-delivery certificate", it is more reasonable for you to ask French Post to provide evidence it was delivered, because you paid them not me! As they said also to me the parcel is your property before it was delivered. I already did what I can do to help in this case, PLEASE do what you need to do to solve this!
Victor
Review from Kickstarter
@Artline International Have you received my email dated Oct 20, 2017?
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@Victor
When you will open the claim at China Post, join all shipping documents that we have sent to you to your claim.
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@ VIctor Yes, we have received the reply from the Delivengo, and as we was afraid, they says that according to their internal information your parcel was delivered.
As we wrote you previously you need to open an OFFICIAL CLAIM for non delivery at China Post and get the WRITTEN REPLY from them.
Without the official reply letter from China Poste, Delivengo could not launch further research. Sorry for the inconvenience, but without that important step we can't do anything more than was already done until now. Regards,
I-Extruder Team
Victor
Review from Kickstarter
@Artline International Have you received the emails and message I sent to you? I sent several email and message after your last email dated 2017-09-14 and got no response. Please let me know what the latest news regarding the parcel.
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@cereyanli
that's strange, considering the fact that we get multiple orders every day and can't find any problem with the website.
Could you tell us little bit more about the device and browser that you are using ? Have you tried different device and different browser ?
You can send screenshot to: info (AT) i-extruder.com
cereyanli
Review from Kickstarter
I still receive same error. Where can I send a screenshot ?
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@cereyani
Hi,
No, the website seems running fine and error log doesn't shows any error during the past 48h.
You may check it again at: https://www.i-extruder.com
cereyanli
Review from Kickstarter
is your website down ? I receive 503 Overloaded error
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
Dear backers,
the "Free I-Extruder ADVANCED pack" contest is finished.
Thank you all for your participation and reviews. Here is the screen-cast of contest winner's random number pick up:
https://www.youtube.com/watch… The winner is the backer #96 John F. from Australia.
Congratulations John !
Your prize will be shipped to you within 48 business hours. Regards,
I-Extruder Team
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@ all backers
FREE I-Extruder "ADVANCED" pack contest Final Countdown !!!
Time is running out !
Contest will be finished today at 24h00 (Paris Time zone)
Don't lose your chance to win a free I-Extruder pack (including additional foot switch, Pick & Place pen and solder paste)
Leave now your comment about I-Extruder on our website: http://www.i-extruder.com/en/testimonials.
Bruce Shipman
Review from Kickstarter
Thank you, Artline! With the posting of the refill comment, the YouTube refill video, and the arrival of the Luer couplers from Amazon, I'm a much happier backer. Now I can't wait for the next batch of my prototype boards to arrive from OshPark so I can use this nifty thing!
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@al backers
It seems that the "Name" field on testimonials page, only accepts text and can't accept digits.
In order to make it work, please enter backer number at the first line of comment field.
Sorry for the trouble.
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@ all backers
just a quick followup.
In order to post a review with your avatar, simply click on a with gray silhouette with text "Upload your avatar" , and you can select any picture/avatar from your PC, Phone, Tablet...
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@ All backers
we are happy to inform you, that we have launched a contest:
Win FREE I-Extruder "ADVANCED" pack !
For more details please check the update #27
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@ All backers
All Kickstarter orders were dispatched and it should take between 2-10 business days to arrive at your doorstep. Delivery in France usually takes 48h.
Delivery to EU countries takes between 3-7 business days
For international customers delivery may takes between 5-10 business days.
Please note, that sometimes shipment time may take longer because of different country's custom procedures. However, please don't wait to much.
If you still haven't received your parcel, please check the tracking status at: http://www.17track.net
It may be that your local post already tried to deliver the parcel to you without success, and now parcel is waiting for you at your local post office. IMPORTANT !!!
If your parcel will remain undelivered, usually after 15 days, it will be returned back to sender.
In that case, additional shipping charges may apply. Regards,
I-Extruder team
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@Remco Hosman
Hi,
according to the tracking information, it seems that they has sent you parcel to ... Japan !
That is very unusual, taking into account that the shipping label clearly indicated your correct address in Netherlands.
We have contacted Delivengo (French Post) and asked them to fix that error.
We will let you know about the upcoming information.
Sorry for the inconvenience.
Remco Hosman
Review from Kickstarter
Has anyone already received theirs? i got an email the 21st with a trackingnumber, but the last scan there is now the 24th. no update since. its only from France to The Netherlands.
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
We have uploaded a short video about how to refill 10cc Nordson EDF syringe with solder paste: https://youtu.be/ptd_jYF5Mlw
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
All countries are activated now.
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@Jozsef Vamosi
problem is fixed fro European countries and on the away for the rest of the world.
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@Jozsef Vamosi
Normally shipping should work worldwide.
Sorry for the inconvenience, let us check it out.
Will be right back, within few minutes.
Jozsef Vamosi
Review from Kickstarter
Is there any reason the shop only allows USA and France as shipping address? I wanted to order some accessories today but unable to register a Danish address..
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@Bruce Shipman
Our website is now up and running. One can easily fill empty syringe with solder paste or other material in two ways:
1. Using syringe "luer-to-luer" connector (recommended)
2. From the behind of empty syringe.
Tomorrow, will make a small video of how to do it. Regarding the syringes, we didn't made that choice because we are kinda greedy, but because we had a choice between either design and manufacture a new type of syringe (which would cost many tens of thousands euros) or use the existing model.
The whole idea of I-Extruder it's to attach the syringe's piston to the lead-screw.
As was previously , only told Nordson EFC syringes has that option. As far as we know, there is no any other syringes with offers those mounting holes inside the pistons, and believe me, we have tried many various 10cc syringes.
Bruce Shipman
Review from Kickstarter
I have no problems with the decision to use the Nordson EFC syringes, but I would have hoped that information would have been presented along with the campaign material.

Since the campaign page didn’t specify that it would require a specific type and the syringes looked identical to what I already have, I didn't purchase solder paste along with my I-Extruder - so it seems I can't use my spiffy new amazing tool at all until I can either get some compatible solder or find out how to load the syringes from the ones I already have without introducing air bubbles and other problems. Can you give us a list of compatible solder paste products? Or perhaps instructions on how to load the Nordson EFD syringes using MG or ChipQuick Solder? I searched but couldn't find anyone online that sold solder paste in those syringes, and your site is offline for updating. I could easily find sources for the syringes themselves, but nor pre-loaded with Solder paste. Frankly, I’d hope I could use locally available solder: I’d rather not have to have it shipped all the way from France whenever I need it.
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@Eric Kong
The whole life is a matter of choice...
You should know, that there are multiple variations of 10cc syringes available on the market, and they all has some variations in size and shape. As we previously wrote I-Extruder is designed to use Nordson EFD type 10cc syringes because of their pistons.
Red aluminum piston is made for P&P and not for dispensing. It will not move the piston inside the syringe in the same way, as will move the Nordon EFD piston which is mounted on the lead-screw.
Eric Kong
Review from Kickstarter
it's a bad choice then
and there is no mention in ur campaign that it only support one type of syringe btw for those without the mounting hole on the piston, the supplied "Pick & Place" piston works with them. the piston without hole will move back and forth with the "PnP" piston
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@Eric Kong
In fact that is not a "problem" but rather a choice.
From the multiple models of syringes available on market, we have selected the Nordson EFD type 10cc syringes for the very important reason - their pistons has a MOUNTING HOLE.
It is used to screw the syringe on I-Extruder lead-screw, so piston moves along with the lead-screw. This is not possible with other syringes types, models.
Without that the "Pull-Back" feature which prevents material oozing, will not work.
Eric Kong
Review from Kickstarter
got the package, very well builded
however there is one major problem: it's NOT COMPATIBLE with other supplier's syringe barrel like CHIPQUIK, i have to cut the wings on the barrel so that when it insert into the syringe holder the pogo pins can contact the main unit all my consumables came in syringe barrel like this and it won't fit unless i cut the wings:
http://www.jensentools.com/metcal-910-nw-syringe-barrel-natural-with-white-wiper-piston-10cc-50-box/p/428-731
Jozsef Vamosi
Review from Kickstarter
OK, received mine today - absolutely fricking awesome! Well worth the wait - thanks guys!
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
Dear backers,
for those of you , who haven't yet received your parcel, kindly check the status of your parcel using the tracking URL which was automatically sent by "Delivengo" (French Post) to you email address, or check your tracking number at http://www.17track.net (see 3 previous UPDATES for tracking number) Please note that "Undelivered" status usually means that your local post has already tried to deliver your parcel without success.
In that case you need to contact your local post office and after providing them the tracking number, ask them to program the delivery again. IMPORTANT !!!
If your parcel will remain undelivered, usually after 15 days, it will be returned back to sender.
In that case, additional shipping charges may apply. Regards,
I-Extruder team
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@cereyanli
When the 35 mm red ring (N°16) placed inside of the "Quick Release Ring" (N°15) you can use the syringe without the "Syringe Holder" (N°12)
This can be useful if you would like to use I-Extruder with the XYZ Stand with Foot Switch, for Pick & Place, or if you simply prefer to hold the device by the syringe . Check it out here: https://youtu.be/OQmnu8NbQDs… Regards
cereyanli
Review from Kickstarter
what is the red plastic ring inside of foot switch ?
Kean
Review from Kickstarter
@creator Yes, good point.
I've been using syringes for dispensing paste for many years - both manual and air powered.
I usually just mix a little extra flux into the paste to reduce viscosity.
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
Hi all, thank you for your feedback.
Here are few pictures showing how to put everything inside, even with solder paste and Pick & Place pen, so it will fit the carton box. http://imgur.com/a/jZz7p @ArdRhi
Kean is right, you need to keep solder paste in cool temperature (2 to 10° C) so it will last longer. But don't forgot to leave the past at room temperature for at least 2 hours before use. @Kean
We have ordered customized low viscosity solder paste. (120 Pa.s)
You may use any other low viscosity solder paste, however you should know that the solder paste in jars is made for stencils use and has much much higher viscosity compared to solder pastes in syringes. I-Extruder may have a hard time to dispense such type of solder paste, especially if you put a lot of it in syringe.
Doug Scherbarth
Review from Kickstarter
I received my I-Extruder Yesterday and powered up this morning :) haven't done much with it yet but so far seems to work great. picked up a few smd parts and applied some solder paste. Intending to mount this on my cnc platform. Good work! Thanks guys.
Kean
Review from Kickstarter
Got mine in Australia today. Looks great. @Kimmo - yeah, mine doesn't fit back in the box anymore - definitely a puzzle :)
And what paste do you normally use? I typically use ChipQuick, but going to try Loctite GC10 soon. @ArdRhi you might want to keep your paste in the fridge, so it will last longer (6+ months). Most pastes need to be kept cool to stop separation.
ArdRhi
Review from Kickstarter
It's also too darned hot in my workshop just now. It's in a part of my house that is NOT air-conditioned, and we're in a heat wave right now. I'm not in a big hurry to do much COOKING, much less melting metal with my hot air rework station! It's so hot, we've been getting takeout because we don't have to heat up the house cooking it.
ArdRhi
Review from Kickstarter
I received mine last night! Looks good. I'll experiment with it more over time. I've got a fresh tub of solder paste, but am loathe to open it until I'm ready to sit down and work with it for a while. I may buy a pre-filled syringe or two to experiment with, and to work with a couple of the SMD training boards I have. I'm probably going to wait, though, until I get my ReflowR from South Africa. That'll make the package complete, and I'll be able to effectively study SMD from beginning to end. Since I don't know how long it'll take to get the ReflowR yet, I'll wait so I don't have solder paste expiring before then. Damn stuff's too expensive as it is, without wasting it. When I have more to say, I'll put together a comprehensive review and post it to my Google+ Electronics collection.
Kimmo Lindholm
Review from Kickstarter
and BTW, how you are supposed to pack everything back to the box? Should have taken a photo how they were arranged... (puzzle)
Kimmo Lindholm
Review from Kickstarter
Arrived couple of days ago, day before i got email from french-post that is is going to arrive.
Tested briefly, parameters needs some tuning before can be used for 0.5mm pitch components. 0402 and SOIC are really easy to doze. Provided solder paste is not as good as i expected, it does not flow nicely on pad, and does not "autoalign" parts as my other solder paste does.
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
Dear backers,
please check our previous updates with tracking numbers.
Check your parcel at : http://www.17track.net Some parcels were not yet delivered for various reasons.
If it's the case with your parcel, please contact your local post office and tell them your parcel's tracking number, to find out what caused the problem and program a delivery date.
Petr Antoš
Review from Kickstarter
Hi, greetings from Czech Republic; package arrived today! Everything needs steady focus and not giving it up :-) tnx guys and sorry for missing the additional items payments, too much focus and emails here too ))
Stefan
Review from Kickstarter
My package is arrived to Germany, Perfekt.
Artline International
Review from Kickstarter
@ Mike Eitel , Dr. Mathias Wilhelm, Highcooley, cereyanli
thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.
cereyanli
Review from Kickstarter
My package is arrived on Saturday to Germany, I opened the package ( nice protected packaging ) but did not have a chance to test it yet
Mike Eitel
Review from Kickstarter
Received mine
Did only "dry" andcit performs nicely.
THX Will recommend it.
Mike