Cookie Notification

We use cookies to personalize your experience. Learn more here.

I Accept
I Don't Accept
  1. Home
  2. Categories
  3. Workspace Gadgets
  4. Flter Protective Internet Router
x
Ratings for products on Gadget Flow are based on quality, competitive features, aesthetics, price, and more. We also take feedback from our users seriously. Products with negative feedback (shipping delays, quality issues, etc.) will go down in rating. Feel free to report your experience with this brand and we will investigate.

Flter Protective Internet Router

Editor's Rating
4.8/5?

With everything online, it can be difficult to have privacy. But, with Flter, the Protective Internet Router, you can have total peace of mind for all of your devices. Compact and unassuming, this device has what it takes to keep your information secure. Simply use the app for quick and easy setup, and you’re good to go. Fltr provides you with VPN support, ad blocking, and Tor anonymity. In addition, Flter works for any device on your network. This includes gaming consoles and smart TVs as well as media players. With Flter, you gain protection from those looking to view details about your life, including your web activity, searches, and physical locations. Also within the app, you can change your location to access geo-restricted content. Flter offers total peace of mind while you browse.

Discovered On
Discovered By
Mark Myerson
Show Product Specs
Color
grey
Connection
Wi-Fi
App
iOS, Android, Linux, Windows
Modes
VPN, Tor, Blocking
Report this

Comments

Comments
Kickstarter Comments (50)
Write your comment..
Sign up to leave a comment.
50
Click here to tag users that participate in this comment thread.
Click here to upload an image or gif.
Click or drag your image here (Maximum Size 4MB, Accepted formats JPG, PNG, GIF).
Add an emoji to your comment.
Click here to add a gif from Giphy.com to your comment.
Search for gifs
Search
powered by Giphy
Lampros Triantafillou
Review from Kickstarter
I got my Fltr devices very early last year, but unfortunately, my Fltr device's VPN service is not working for the last couple weeks. Still waiting for support to respond from Sunday... :(
Norman
Review from Kickstarter
My filter device is still going strong!! Excited for the increased speeds with Beam. Once again good luck!
Mohammad Almishwat
Review from Kickstarter
Ditto! I have yet to receive my Fltr pledge. Why would you introduce a new device to garner funding when you haven't delivered on your previous campaign? I would think potential funders would be skeptical of your new campaign given this history.
Flter
Review from Kickstarter
@Shabaz We got that all sorted for you.
Shabaz Mohammad
Review from Kickstarter
Just received an email that a new device is coming our Beam on Indiegogo, next week. Still waiting for my flter device from this campaign. Backer no. 6
Flter
Review from Kickstarter
@Mark We'll send you a message to figure out what happened with your order. Sorry about the delay.
Mark
Review from Kickstarter
I have never received my device I ordered almost 2 years ago. I forgot about it because it was taking so long.
Flter
Review from Kickstarter
@Tanner Sexton: Sorry that you never received your second device. We had about 40 of the 2x orders go wrong last year but we'll ship your second device out right away. Please email us at hello@flter.me if you have any questions.
Tanner Sexton
Review from Kickstarter
I still have never received my 2nd device. Guess we all get burned by a failed product launch through Kickstater eventually. Thoroughly disappointed in all aspects of this campaign.
Flter
Review from Kickstarter
Hello João Barbosa, Our tracking info still shows your shipment is in transit, we'll contact you via email with better tracking info / replacement order.
João Barbosa
Review from Kickstarter
I have received 0
Flter
Review from Kickstarter
@Tanner Sexton Sorry about the mix up. Can you email us at hello@flter.me so we can get your second device to you? Thanks!
Tanner Sexton
Review from Kickstarter
To date I have only ever received 1 of the 2 devices I had pledged for. But then apparently I am not alone. Bad form all around.
Flter
Review from Kickstarter
@Ebrahim, We have shipped you three devices to the two separate addresses you gave us. We believe there may be an issue with your country blocking this sort of device from entering. Please email us at hello@flter.me so we can figure out a way to get this to you.
Ebrahim Al-Bishri
Review from Kickstarter
I can't believe you started selling in indiegogo with a promise of shipping after 3 days while many backers still waiting for the imaginary device with no reply to any email. Thives.
Chuck Gollnick
Review from Kickstarter
Oh look! There’s Mr. Christian Bennefeld, creator of the eBlocker... which I backed for $120-something dollars and which doesn’t work properly and for which there is no support. Apparently, he’s here doing a bit of competition research.
Flter
Review from Kickstarter
@Andrea Can you email us at hello@flter.me so we can help get you set up. Thanks!
Jeff Williams
Review from Kickstarter
Won't work for my needs. If anyone is looking, I'll sell it for $40 w/ free SH in US.
JayC
Review from Kickstarter
@Andrea - don’t feel bad I too could not get this thing to work. The app is junk and the setup instructions are worthless. Very glad I didn’t sponsor the lifetime vpn option, since it’s also just as worthless as this device.
Andrea
Review from Kickstarter
Received mine but can't get it to work... it's pretty frustrating I thought it would be a plug a play set up after simple connecting to my home router..... anyone else having issues ?
Tanner Sexton
Review from Kickstarter
To date I have only received 1 of the 2 FLTR devices that I ordered.
Danial Beck
Review from Kickstarter
@Christian Bennefeld and others, I am based in Dubai (UAE) and have also not received my Flter. No tracking number and no information from the post office/courier. Flter Team: Can you help me at all? I am Backer Number 129. Or will you confirm Christian's fears?
Christian Bennefeld
Review from Kickstarter
This appears to be a SCAM. I have not received my flter yet. Asked several times via private chat about the status and never received any feedback. I fear I've lost $120 to these SCAMMERS. Very disappointing project. Shame on you!
jaggers
Review from Kickstarter
Anders... looks like the forum has been pulled? Or maybe my browser simply can't connect.
Vincent C
Review from Kickstarter
The speeds I'm getting with this may be a deal breaker unfortunately. Any update on the mobile app?
Anders Forslund
Review from Kickstarter
Jaggers, you are not alone in this, see https://forum.flter.me/t/vpn-speedtest/169/12
jaggers
Review from Kickstarter
...and managed to get the Flter updated and working. Performance is a killer. So on my 200mbps line, the Flter throttles this down to 35mbps without any active VPN and when I connect to the closest VPN server, this is knocked down to 7mbps (on download speed). Guess this is a double whammy of the Flter hardware and server - but does mean this kit will only get used selectively and can't be added to the whole household's network. Curious what others have found.
jaggers
Review from Kickstarter
...so after a long wait
jaggers
Review from Kickstarter
Hi Flter... so have a long wait (no thanks to DHL's pass-off to RoyalMail) I've finally received the shipment. Hurrah! I'm at the confit stage and plagued by iOS app repeatedly asking me to update the device... which it does only to prompt the same update time after time. I'm sure I'll find a way through this. There was no wow factor on opening the box. Plasticky and the Filter device itself feels cheap and lightweight - which is a shame compared to the lovely matt grey renders. Maybe you can improve on this in your MkII release of the device. Shame.
alexis
Review from Kickstarter
I never receive my flter too and NO MESSAGE FROM THE TEAM! WHAT GOING ON WITH MY COMMAND? WHERE IT IS?
Ebrahim Al-Bishri
Review from Kickstarter
I backed almost 300 projects.
But this never happened to me before.
I couldn't receive my item twice because
1. No Export Control Classification Number (ECCN).
2. No last name, no phone number, and no full address.
Ebrahim Al-Bishri
Review from Kickstarter
@jaggers the same thing happened to me.
I discovered that they shipped back the package. The problem was:
No last name
No full address
No phone number WHAT'S WRONG FLTER???
Flter
Review from Kickstarter
@jagger jez and Joao, We've got you all covered via email / Kickstarter messages. Let us know if you need help with anything else.
jaggers
Review from Kickstarter
Hello - so DHL passed package to RoyalMail who never knowingly attempted delivery and never sent a customs slip! - so unfortunately the unit was shipped back to you. Can you please now confirm you've resent the package out to me?
João Barbosa
Review from Kickstarter
Mine is stuck in the costums... you shipped from where?
Jez
Review from Kickstarter
@Flter what is the shipping schedule to Australia? I am still waiting to receive the device.
Thanks
Claire Corneal
Review from Kickstarter
After setting up my flter initially it did not turn on, customer service responded and said I should switch out their usb wall adapter with another. After that it worked fine, but it has been a week and no one has responded to my question on whether they will be sending a replacement. Also sharing this in case others have experienced faulty wall adapters.
Holger Fröhling
Review from Kickstarter
Have i overlook some information about the "super early biird x2"- pladge.
Ther schould be shipping 2 devices. I have only got one.
What schould I be doing to get the second device?
Flter
Review from Kickstarter
@Jason Yes, we did update the mobile applications but that wouldn't cause any connection issues. All of our servers are online: http://status.flter.me/ Are you using a third party VPN?
Typicalgold
Review from Kickstarter
So is this plug and play? Cause I tried that and nothing changed. What should I be doing?
Jason M Saucedo
Review from Kickstarter
Was there some sort of software update? Everything had been working fine until wednesday, when the phone app was updated. Since then, my Flter has been causing internet connection problems and VPN leak. Removing the Flter device fixed both problems (seems the Flter was causing my other VPN service to leak ip as well. Worked fine after Flter was removed). Any suggestions? Again, everything was fine until wednesday 10/4
Daniel Koehler
Review from Kickstarter
Got my Flter in Germany!
I dont get why some people worry about having this thing in a shelf rather than somewhere open so it can be seen... I initially thought that it may be nice to have it standing outside somewhere but after I felt it, it will surely go into a drawer or something...
The final product looks way different from the prototype pictures... Plus it appears to be super-light and thus imo feels super-cheap.. thats a bit of a let-down.. Anyways, on to connecting and testing it!
Lee
Review from Kickstarter
Everything has been working flawlessly since day one. Clean interface and a great VPN service. You guys really did do a great job with this product.
Mary
Review from Kickstarter
My speed is awful, 2-11 mb/s download. I mean its 2017, why so slow. Maybe its the very old under powered CPU in the router? MT7620N is circa 2013 right
Severiano Ortiz
Review from Kickstarter
Simple enough to install but internet speed with Flter is, at best 3-15 mb/s download, whereas I used to have 140 mb/s download. Accordingly, unless there is a fix, this is basically unusable.
Dave Brown
Review from Kickstarter
Just got my Flter out out here in Saudi. Took a bit longer as it had to ship twice 1st to MyUS address then onward to me. But it's here, and its working! Connected to NYC getting almost 6MB down on a 12MB connection so after all I cannot complain, sure build quality could have been a bit better plastic is but unrefined but hey 1st run growing pains, but the interface is very clean and smooth, So again GREAT job everyone.
Flter
Review from Kickstarter
@Andrea can you email us at hello@flter.me so we can have this sorted out for you. @Carley due to the low volume in Australia we were only able to ship Flter with UK, EU, and US wall adapters.
Carley
Review from Kickstarter
Hi,
I recieved my filtr in Australia (type I electrical sockets).. with a US plug. For other kickstarters I have recieved our correct regional plug. Is this an error, or do I have to go buy an adaptor :(.
Andrea
Review from Kickstarter
Hey guys just received my filtr unit. I'm havering difficulty trying to get it connected and working. The box I received was pretty bare bones to and the items inside looked almost used. Could have been rough handling from the factory. Also the product appears different from your concept picture. Total though the product was going to have a better plastic finish.....
Flter
Review from Kickstarter
@Ebrahim Al-Bishri: Of course, that's no problem at all. @Lee: Yes, you can upgrade to a lifetime subscription on our Indiegogo page: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/flter-privacy-security-router-technology/x/16230370#/

From our Channel

Sign up for Gadget Flow Get Started