Cookie Notification

We use cookies to personalize your experience. Learn more here.

I Accept
I Don't Accept

News

53 iOS apps besides TikTok are grabbing clipboard data

Published on 06/28/2020 @ 3 PM EST
Security researcher Tommy Mysk told Ars Technica in an interview that an additional 53 apps identified in March are still indiscriminately capturing universal clipboard data when they open, potentially sharing sensitive data with other nearby devices using the same Apple ID. 

Facebook is introducing a dark mode for mobile

Published on 06/28/2020 @ 3 PM EST
As first noted by SocialMedia Today, Facebook has made the dark mode available to a very small percentage of people globally, a spokesperson told The Verge in an email on Sunday. 

Microsoft is permanently closing all of its retail stores

Published on 06/27/2020 @ 6 PM EST
On Friday, Microsoft said it plans to close all of its physical Microsoft Store locations across the US and overseas permanently. Moving forward, it will focus its efforts on Microsoft.com, where customers can go to purchase products, as well as get support and training. The company will “reimagine” four locations — in London, New York City, Sydney and Redmond — as Microsoft Experience Centers but those locations won’t sell merchandise. Source: Engadget

Google’s Phone app might be able to tell you why a business is calling you

Published on 06/27/2020 @ 6 PM EST

As reported by the Verge, "Google is piloting a new Verified Calls feature for its Phone app in Brazil that shows call recipients a business’ name, logo, and the reason for its call."

Olympus is stepping out of the camera business

Published on 06/24/2020 @ 4 PM EST
As reported by Engadget, Olympus has announced plans to get out of the camera business entirely, selling off its imaging division to an investment fund. Japan Industrial Partners, the company that bought the VAIO computer business from Sony, has signed a memorandum of understanding that will see Olympus spin out the division and transfer all of its shares.

Google’s auto-delete controls will remove every new users’ web data after 18 months

Published on 06/24/2020 @ 4 PM EST

As an endeavor for treating information responsibly, Google introduced auto-delete controls. As explained in the official announcement, "Auto-delete controls will give you the choice to have Google automatically and continuously delete your Location History, search, voice and YouTube activity data after 3 months or 18 months. We continue to challenge ourselves to do more with less, and today we’re changing our data retention practices to make auto-delete the default for our core activity settings."